Wedding and Work In Progress

This past weekend one of my friends tied the knot. (Perhaps it is just me but do you ever wonder what kind of a knot people tie when you hear this phrase? We will just leave it at that.) You can read about her rapid (as in rafting) bachelorette weekend here.

Their wedding took place in Camden at Merryspring Nature Center, where the bearded fellow worked as the Environmental Educator our first year in Maine. The rehearsal dinner was at Cappy’s Chowder House, a downtown Camden classic. The tables at Cappy’s are covered in butcher paper and topped with little baskets containing condiments and crayons for children anyone to use. Threepio and Artoo were drawn by the bearded fellow. That purple thing? That’s my Millennium Falcon. I think I will keep my day job.

See Threepio and Artoo Detoo in orange crayonWhile the ceremony itself took all of ten seconds (at least it felt like it did), the one part that felt the longest was the walk down the aisle. And I was not the important one in white! Not one for boring, the bride decided, four hours before the wedding, that her bridesmaids would walk dance and lip sync down the aisle to Stevie Wonder’s Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours. I got to go first.

me

Photo © Jeremy Turner

You can almost hear the words, ‘Ooh baby’ pouring out of my mouth. I owned that dance with my bouquet-turned-mic. After the wedding, the groom mentioned that he thought the (ridiculously-hilarious-over-the-top) dancing was just for the rehearsal…and that we would walk down the aisle normal style. The bride retorted by saying:

Oh no! Not my friends. My friends are not boring.

Life is too short to be boring and embarrassed, right? This is why I put this picture here for you to enjoy. You can thank me later.

In addition to wedding festivities the bearded fellow and I were able to walk around Camden, visiting old friends and old haunts. One of my favorites has always been this church converted into an apartment complex.

Camden, Maine, Thou Shall Not Park HereThe dumpster has an equally witty phrase which I forgot to snap a picture of.

We also stopped by the local yarn shop, The Cashmere Goat, to pick up two more yarn options for a (not so) secret project I am working on.

Seven Rings Cowl by Lattes and LlamasIf you follow Lattes and Llamas (which you totally should), you already know that they are publishing patterns that are literary inspired for their Kniterary line. Genius, right? Their recent post about Seven Rings Cowl called for testers and I jumped at the chance. Not only is this cowl wicked easy to crochet, it is the perfect stash-busting project.

Seven Rings Cowl by Lattes and LlamasThe cowl is based on Dante’s Inferno, with seven rings of color for seven circles of hell; four worsted weight and three fingering weight. I decided to take the theme to the max and chose my colors accordingly. It all started with Limbo, which transitioned into Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Anger, Heresy, and finally Violence (and Fraud and Treachery, too).

Seven Rings Cowl by Lattes and LlamasInterestingly enough, each yarn choice perfectly suited the circle it corresponded to. Limbo was crocheted too loosely, creating a ruffle on the starting edge. Gluttony, Berroco Ultra Alpaca, was so soft that I frequently stopped to pet the project. Greed, Berroco Remix in Buttercup, decided to take over the entire cowl with its overly bright golden color. Anger is also Berroco Ultra Alpaca (the Gluttony row was so wonderful, it made me angry for more). Heresy was actually DK weight, not conforming to the requirements of the pattern. Blasphemy. Violence did not provoke anything of the sort but I definitely worked that row the quickest, eager to be done with it.

Seven Rings Cowl by Lattes and LlamasI just finished the cowl last night and will be taking some photos this weekend when, delights upon delights, the bearded fellow and I will be camping in Baxter State Park. We will also be climbing Katahdin, the tallest peak in Maine. You may remember this delightful photo from our last Katahdin trek back in 2011.

Climbing Katahdin

Unlike our recent glamping trip, this camping is much more rustic. There is no potable water in the park and bears do exist. Backpacking in California taught us how to prepare for bear territory. I’ll be leaving my fruit scented anything at home.

5 thoughts on “Wedding and Work In Progress

  1. caityrosey says:

    Your question about knots has me thinking about the state of modern marriage and laws and such…and how different ideas about marriage may be likened to different types of knots. The traditional year and a day handfasting seems a little like a slip-knot, for example.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are reading my wavelengths! I am glad that I am not the only one who thought about the offhand phrase more philosophically. Slip-knot for handfasting is spot on. Now I have started thinking more about knots that are complex, secure, with interesting facets, that can be adjusted over time for a better fit. I see knotwork knitting designs in my future…

      Like

Leave a comment

