Hippity Hoppity Blog Hop

Chelsea over at Hipster Spice was kind enough to mention me in a recent blog hop. Thank you! You know, these questions were harder to answer than the ones posed by Lattes and Llamas in my recent Liebster Award post. Well, here we go!

1. What am I working on?

You know, I had to pause when I read this question. What am I working on? Usually that means there are multiple projects happening all at the same time.

Currently on my needles is a sweater called ‘Alpaka Tunic’, by Deborah Newton, using Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool in the oatmeal color. I found two skeins on super sale at Micheal’s for five dollars – that’s over 900 yards! – and could not pass on the deal. I love this yarn for many reasons. It is soft, available at most craft shops, and infinitely affordable for sweaters and large wool things.Alpaka Tunic Sweater progressI am also working on some non-knitting projects, like these crocheted reusable dish scrubbers for my booth at the Finding the Puddles Maine-made gift shop in Cornish. This is just the orange netting (with variegated cotton). I may have purchased every color in the rainbow. Washing dishes in color is much better than the alternative. You know, that lifeless beige sponge hue that makes you say blah.

Mesh and cotton dish scrubberThere is also some stitching of the sewing machine variety. The bearded fellow and I are huge nerds (as if you couldn’t tell), especially when it comes to Star Wars (one look at this snow creation of ours says it all). Right now we are working on an Imperial Officer Hat using this pattern. Why not, I say. Why not.

Oh, and we cannot forget about my first-ever doily! Poor thing has sat idle as I work on other projects. Soon dear doily, soon.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Simply because it is my own! There is a lot to be said for individuality, even when following a pattern that a million other people may have already made. For example, my version of this cap sleeve sweater may look like any other blue sweater out there (because it is), but it was made with my hands, my mistakes, and my yarn of choice. We pour our own time, energy and habits into every project we make, creating something as unique as we are. That unintentionally sounded a bit like a speech. I think you know what I mean. Remember, like the kid who made this card says, it is okay to be different!

Don't be afraid to be different

Wise words from a young kid on a card from my grandmother.

3. Why do I write/create what I do?

I love it! I have always thought that it is important to do what you love and love what you do. I enjoy sharing my creative process with others as I see the benefits in a shared narrative, so to speak. We are all different people who come together to share our mistakes, progress, and success. It also makes me really happy to give the gift of handmade. I would rather gift a finished object – I can always make another!

4. How does my writing/creating process work?

Like a faucet. Some days creativity pours out, others see a trickle of crafty bytes.


From what I can tell, it is customary to list a few favorite blogs for more blog hopping love. You know, I have a really hard time picking blogs to feature. Not from a lack of phenomenal blogs to choose from, but from a surplus of options! I adore the blogs I follow and would love to show all of them some love. I know, I know, a bit of a cop-out.

Instead of listing blogs here, I pose a challenge to you! Your quest, should you choose to accept it is to get out there in the wide world of blogging and find at least three new blogs (to you or in general) to like, comment on or follow. And then, if you choose, comment back on this post with your favorite blog(s). Let’s take time to be kind, and show others that we appreciate the work they put into making and sharing their creations!

2 thoughts on “Hippity Hoppity Blog Hop

Leave a comment

