Yarn Bombing, For a Cause

While I have never participated in a yarn bombing project (yet) I sincerely appreciate those who do, especially when it is for a good cause. Recently, I saw an intriguing series of posts over at The Grange Range that reminded me of the importance of acts of kindness.

The Grange Range Charity Yarn Bombing

Photo courtesy The Grange Range

Here is a bit of history from the organizer of this charming charity project:

I work in a lovely little family-orientated GP surgery and I thought it would make our patients smile if we could yarn bomb the place with colourful flowers and wildlife animals and create a ‘Fantasy Garden’, and I thought why not ask for some help from my wonderful blogging friends.

This is a gigantic project, and I would be so grateful if anyone had any discarded flowers or some scraps of yarn left over that could be turned into flowers to help furnish our little surgery with wooly blooms or little animals.

Crochet Birdie Decorations

Photo courtesy The Grange Range

Just think: if we each give something simple to charity causes such as this one, we bring hints of harmony (and lots of color) to the world around us. The Grange Range has cheerful pictures, helpful ideas for what to make for the project and pattern references for the cutest flowers, sweet bunting and adorable birds.

Crochet Bunting Triangles

Photo courtesy The Grange Range

Take a look at The Grange Range to learn more about how you can take part. I know I will be looking at my yarn stash and thinking about what I can send across the pond.

Crochet Sunflower Head

Photo courtesy The Grange Range

Special thanks to The Grange Range for granting me permission to use these photos!

Happy Flowers

Photo courtesy The Grange Range

“Nature always wears the colors of the spirit.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

2 thoughts on “Yarn Bombing, For a Cause

  1. Thank you so much for helping to promote our little yarn bombing project, everything is going well so far and we are so blown away by the amazing response we have had, so much help from around the globe will make this a truly international project.

    Like

Leave a comment

